Meet Nick & Carly

A video message from Nick & Carly

Call or Text us
Learn More

A Letter from Nick & Carly

Hello from Virginia! We are an energetic couple excited to become first-time parents through adoption. We are a Catholic family who enjoys spending time with our dog and our extended families. We love being outdoors, playing and watching sports, singing in our church choir, and playing board games. We look forward to sharing these experiences with your child and building a relationship with you over the years through letters, pictures, and visits.

About Us

We first met in graduate school through mutual friends. We have been together for 8 wonderful years. We truly enjoy spending time together and strive to have a true partnership. We spend our time together by: 

  • Playing frisbee with our dog
  • Hiking at local, state, and national parks
  • Kayaking
  • Cooking family meals
  • Watching sports (especially Virginia Tech and the Green Bay Packers)
  • Playing board games
  • Having a weekend movie night
  • Making S’mores over a campfire
  • Playing and singing in our church choir

We have always had it in our hearts to grow our family through adoption – we even talked about it on our third date! We are looking forward to sharing our passions with your child in a home filled with family, love, and faith.

My Wife, Carly

Carly is an amazing wife, woman, and partner. She is hardworking, outgoing, and energetic. She works part-time as a program assistant for youth and young adult ministry and owns her own private nutrition practice. She sets her own schedule and looks forward to being a Mom first. She has several passions, including: 

  • Cooking and baking
  • Exercise, usually in the form of playing volleyball, running, or cycling 
  • Reading her bible and volunteering at church
  • Cross-stitching our family stockings, including your child’s stocking
  • Teaching faith formation to children

I know she is excited to raise our child and share her love of the outdoors, family, education, and faith.

My Husband, Nick

Nick is a wonderful husband and partner. He is hardworking, patient, loving, silly, and understanding – these traits will make him a great Dad. Nick is an IT Project Manager and works a typical 9-5 job, but his work has always been very accommodating to our family’s needs. He has several hobbies, including:

  • Cooking
  • Exercise, usually in the form of weight lifting, martial arts, and running
  • Volunteering at Boys State and mentoring students and co-workers
  • Playing guitar
  • Reading
  • Playing with our dog
  • Cheering on the Green Bay Packers

Nick will be a wonderful role model for your child and is most excited to watch them grow and help them to pursue their passions.

Meet Our Family

All of our family is supportive of our adoption, and there are many wonderful grandparents, aunts, uncles, and friends who look forward to welcoming your child into our family.

We see Carly’s Mom, Step-Dad, and siblings often for summer barbecues, birthday dinners, Christmas cookie baking, summer vacations, and spontaneous celebrations.

Carly’s Dad and Step-Mom live in Florida. We enjoy their company while we tour their neighborhood on their golf cart. We usually end up at the lagoon or at the tennis courts!

Nick’s family lives in Wisconsin. He has a large extended family that loves to gather regularly. We are usually there for Thanksgiving or Christmas and try to visit in the summer for a nice long weekend at the lake.

Welcome to Our Home in Virginia

Welcome to our three-bedroom townhome with a finished basement. Our nursery is already in progress! The things we enjoy most about our home are:

  • Having a large kitchen table for our friends to gather around
  • A two-story deck perfect for cookouts and campfires
  • Our neighbors – many of them have young children eager to make a new friend
  • The walking trails, playgrounds, pools, basketball courts, and tennis courts in our community
  • Our favorite local park is 10 minutes away
  • The great school district

We are excited to welcome your child into our home!

We Promise...

We promise to love your child as our own. We will teach and model for them a life with faith at the center. We promise to respect their unique interests and encourage them with unconditional love and support. We promise to raise your child to know and love their personal story. We promise that you will be spoken of with respect, love, and appreciation within our home and to maintain contact with you as much as you feel comfortable with.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Nick & Carly

  Nick Carly
Our EducationMasters of Information TechnologyMasters of Science
Our ProfessionsIT Project ManagerOutpatient Dietitian & Youth and Young Adult Program Assistant
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasian/WhiteCaucasian/White
Some of Nick & Carly's Favorites
MovieThe PrestigeAbout Time
Things about FallCampfires & Carving PumpkinsLeaves & Fall Festivals
Outdoor ActivityHiking & BoatingHiking
Board/Card GameTicket to RideCode Names
Music GroupAlter Bridge & John Butler TrioRend Collective
DessertIce Cream with ChocolateCherry Squares
More About Our Family
Our Values

In our home, we value:
- Faith. We are Catholic Christians and believe in living out our faith by praying, reading the Bible, caring for others, and being generous with our time, talents, and finances.
- Honesty. We are honest with one another even when it is hard because good relationships are rooted in honesty.
- Health. We believe in the importance of taking care of ourselves physically, mentally, socially, and spiritually.
- Learning. We are lifelong learners that are open to new ideas, perspectives, and ways of doing things.
- Quality Time. We intentionally carve out time for undistracted quality time with each other, family, and friends.
- Experiences over things. We strive to create positive and memorable experiences in our family as opposed to acquiring more things.

Our Pet

Audie is our 9-year-old Mini Australian Shepherd. He enjoys playing frisbee, going on long walks at our local park, and cuddling on the couch.

He has been around small children and enjoys (safely) herding kids to keep them all together. It's so fun for us to watch our nieces and nephews throw his frisbee and get excited when he catches it.

Our Family Traditions

Nick and I have built a life we love. We love to adventure and also appreciate our family traditions.

- Long hikes at National Parks (we hope to visit them all)
- Trips to Nick's family's lakehouse
- Fall Festivals and Pumpkin Patches
- Carly and her Mom baking Christmas cookies for the extended family
- Attending Easter Vigil Mass and Christmas Eve services followed by a family dinner
- Family Vacations
- Game Nights

We look forward to your child joining us in these traditions and making new ones with them!

Typical Weekend with Us

Friday nights we like to chat over a homemade dinner and then watch a movie together.

Saturday is usually our fun day. Fun things we like to do nearby are:
- Go to a yoga class together
- Go for a hike
- Invite friends over for brunch
- Take Audie to the dog park
- Try a new restaurant
- Visit with family

On Sundays, we wake up and have brunch then do chores while watching football. In the evening, we lead faith formation and then church.

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Our Age Preference

Newborn to 3 yrs old

Open to Twins:


Open to Siblings

Yes. We are open to adopting up to 2 children, up to age 3.

Our Gender Preferences

Either gender

In Closing

Thank you so much for spending time getting to know us. We look forward to walking through this process with you and welcoming your child into our family. We are excited to grow our family through adoption and share life’s adventures with your child. We want to share these special moments with you and are open to photos, calls, letters, and visits. Love always, Carly and Nick

Call or Text us